Cover
Print
Home » Franklin's Market on Main » Food Safety
Food Safety

Hours of Operation:
Wednesdays: 4:00pm - 7:00pm Ended September 4th
Saturdays: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

Food Safety

Be proactive rather than reactive

Food Safety and Inspection
Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services - Anne Magee (804) 225-4536

With one phone call to this number, you can ask questions about all food products sold at retail, including but not limited to, processed, canned fruits and vegetables; pickled products; vinegar products; meat and poultry; fish and seafood; and baked goods.


For Specific Information, call:

 
VDACS-Office of Marketing & Consumer Services- Gail Milteer (757) 653-2010  gail.milteer@vdacs.virginia.gov
VDACS-Office of Food Safety - Anne Magee (804)225-4536
VDACS- Office of Dairy & Foods - Keith Jordan (757)363-3840  keith.jordan@vdacs.virginia.gov
VDACS-Office of Weights & Measures - Wayne Roach (434)446-3095 wayne.roach@vdacs.virginia.gov
VDACS – Retail & Wholesale Monthly Pricing - Market News  www.vdacs.virginia.gov/marketnews
VDH- Virginia Dept. of Health - Charlotte Brayman (757)653-3321 charlotte.brayman@vdh.virginia.gov
Snap/EBT Program DSS - Claudia Jackson (804)726-7346 claudia.jackson@dss.virginia.gov

 

Protect – Sanitize – Label

Each vendor must abide by all local, state, and federal regulations, which govern the production, harvest, preparation, preservation, labeling or safety of products offered for sale at the Market. Vendors are liable for their own products.

  • Refer to VDACS Food Safety Guide booklet for individual product details.
  • A copy of all applicable permits, including those from the health department, VDACS, or appropriate inspector of the county where the products originate must be included with this application and available at the Market.
  • Scales and thermometers (in each unit) must be used and kept accurate.
  • Ice (drainable) or other means must be used to maintain required temperatures.
  • Produce must be displayed at least two (2) feet off the ground.
  • All products must be protected from dust, flies, rain, and animals.